Skip to content

Product Review: My Brest Friend

December 9, 2010
Nowadays, there are so many “must-haves” mummy and baby products out there that I am very wary of buying anything. But once in while, I do hit upon products that I really love. One of them is this brand of breastfeeding pillow called “My Brest Friend”. Of course, for any product, there are good and bad things about it. Here’s a short review of its pros and cons.
Pros:
  • Wrap around design

When I first started learning how to breastfeed, I had a lot of difficulty learning how to position the baby. One of the reasons was because my existing breastfeeding pillow (handed down from my sister) was too soft. When I put the baby on the pillow, there will be a natural gap between my body and the pillow as the baby sinks into it. This makes it hard to maintain a proper position for the baby. My Brest Friend overcame this issue by having a wrap around design that secures the pillow to the body, which really made a world of difference.

  • Elevation of baby to the right level

With the pillow securely fastened around my waist, the baby is elevated to just the proper level for a proper latch on. In fact, nowadays I can breastfeed using one hand, and free the other hand to play with my handphone and do other stuff, which is really great.

  • Washable

This is a godsend since my baby oftens regurgitates milk all over the pillow. Just unzip and take the cover off, much like a pillow case.

  • Convenient Pocket

There is a handy pocket sewed to the side of the pillow. Personally, I do not use this pocket very much. But I do keep some emergency supply of burp cloths and tissue in case both items are somehow not within my reach.

Cons

  • Not made for football hold

This pillow seems to be made more for cradle or cross cradle hold. If you want to use it for football hold, you still need to prop your arms up using lots of blankets. I ended up using only the cradle hold for breastfeeding, which is alright except that football hold is the best position to use if you are just starting to learn breastfeeding, since it gives you the most control over the baby’s neck.

  • Difficult to put cover back after washing

The cover fits really snugly across the pillow, which makes it a struggle to put it back after washing. For the first time, I spent about 10 minutes trying to put the cover back.

  • Size

This is the drawback for all breastfeeding pillows, I suppose. I wish someone can invent a pillow where you can fold and put away neatly.

Bottomline

Having used another brand of breastfeeding pillow before I bought My Brest Friend, I can really tell the difference between the two. If you are serious about learning how to breastfeed, this is a great product to invest in.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment