Skip to content

I survived the first two weeks of motherhood

November 16, 2010

The Great Poop Queen

I can’t believe it has just been two weeks. In these two weeks’ time, I have had many firsts: The first time to give birth to a baby, the first time to breastfeed a baby, the first time to anxiously wait for a baby to poop.

It was also the first time in my life that I am so happy to see poop. Baby R has not been passing a lot of motion when she first came back from the hospital, so both the confinement nanny and I were always very happy when she did so.

And some of the poop shows were a real surprise! There was one which sprayed out violently like the waters from the merlion’s mouth. Dark chocolate colour, really grossed… =P

While there were moments like these, the main theme for the first two weeks was about breastfeeding.

Geez, breastfeeding must be a challenge set by nature to test a mother’s perseverance. The first day was the most difficult. While a nurse at the hospital did show me the ropes, it very much depended on the mother to pick up the techniques. So the first day (and night as the baby feeds round the clock), it was just a lot of trial and error. By the second day, I had sore nipples.

To make things worse, on the third day when my milk came in, I started having engorged breasts. Luckily, I had been reading up so much about breastfeeding before I delivered Baby R that I knew exactly what to do. I called up a lactation consultant who came down to massage my breasts. After just one massage, my engorgement felt much better. She also helped me to improve my latch on techniques. By the end of the week, I was coping much better with breastfeeding, though there are still times when my baby really baffled me.

So I can pretty much say that it has been a very successful too weeks for me. Now my next challenge is to read up all about sleep training for new borns. Wish me luck!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Shyanyan permalink
    November 17, 2010 10:13 pm

    Congrats! Such a pretty little lady!

  2. chabby permalink
    November 18, 2010 7:54 am

    Hi,
    you may wan to read this book call “the baby sleep tonight”.
    It’s by Shari Mezrah. i grab that from the library.

    drop me a mail.
    i can mail you the first 6 weeks schedule which i’ve summarized based on the book.

  3. November 19, 2010 1:14 pm

    You are doing so so well Mummy! You’re lucky you get engorged breasts, which means you have milk!!! I’m a self-declared pro in sleep-training newborns so if you need help, email me 🙂

    • November 20, 2010 12:07 pm

      Tks Paik Ling and Chabby for your willingness to share! I just emailed Chabby, so let me try her method first… 🙂

  4. November 22, 2010 8:51 am

    Hello there! Accidentally chanced upon your blog, and glad I did! Congratulations on your Mummyhood, hope you’re having the best time bonding with Baby R.

    Am preparing for my baby #1 early next year, so am pretty sure I’ll be popping by your blog more often for insights on what-to-expect.

    Rest plenty!

    • November 23, 2010 11:04 pm

      Yup, i’m enjoying my time with baby r now…! Have a good rest before your baby comes along!

  5. December 8, 2010 12:31 am

    cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Women are the most sharing creatures in the world « The Savvy Mummy

Leave a Reply

