Skip to content

What’s the Baby trying to say?

November 24, 2010

I’m now reading a great book called “Secrets of the Baby Whisperer – How to Calm, Connect and Communicate with your Baby” by Tracy Hogg, a professional nanny and midwife.

It’s a classic parenting book recommended by many mothers on the internet. Besides offering sound, practical and valuable advice, it’s a great read too. Most parenting books are quite “textbook-like”, so it’s really refreshing to read a book that’s written in a conversational manner, much like a beloved nanny speaking to you. I read the book in two days’ time, which is a wonder given that time is always in short supply these days.

While there are many great advice in her book, the one that speaks to me the most is her advice for us to get to know the baby as an individual. In her words, the foundation of good parenting begins when you

  • Are respectful of your baby (such a refreshing concept to be used on baby!)
  • Know your baby as a unique individual
  • Talk with, not at, your baby
  • Listen and, when asked, meet your baby’s needs
  • Let your baby know what’s coming next by providing a daily dose of dependability, structure and predictability

Wow, reading her book, I suddenly found myself paying very close attention to my baby’s every cry and movement. What is she trying to say to me through her cries and body language? Apparently, it can be all decoded if you are ultra-observant, and take the time to really learn your baby.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 9:28 am

    Tracy Hogg’s Baby Whisperer series was a life-saver for me! I was introduced to her books when my first born was 3 months old. I put her advices into practice and they worked like magic.

    • December 2, 2010 9:57 am

      I wish I can say the same… Still struggling to implement some of her ideas, especially how to get Baby R to sleep on her own!

Leave a Reply

