Skip to content

Things to pack when going out with Baby

December 18, 2010

I thought that for the first few months after I have had a baby, it will be very hard for me to get out of the house. But I thought wrong! Baby R has been an absolute angel when it comes to going out. In fact, she seems to love going out to new places (takes after her father, I believe…).

So far, after her first month celebration, we have been out to the Changi Airport, Marina Square, a restaurant, a reservoir park and tonight, we are going to Orchard to see the Christmas lights. And she is just 7 weeks’ old!

Of course, with a baby, we have to plan our trips quite carefully. Usually, we time in such that we leave the house immediately after her feed. Also, we will give her a diaper change just before going out too. Finally, we have to pack the usual things for going out.

If you need a list of things to pack when going out with baby, here’s my personal list.

Things to bring when going out with Baby

Feeding items

  • Thermal flask with hot water
  • One small bottle of cold boiled water
  • One empty milk bottle
  • Milk powder
  • Burp cloth

Diaper changing items

  • Diapers
  • Diaper cream
  • One set of clothes to change
  • One small changing mat
  • Baby wipes
  • Tissue
  • Plastic bags

Other items

  • Pacifier
  • Blanket
  • Hand santiser (optional)
  • Baby sling (optional)

I usually leave most of the items in the bag when I come home, so that the next time I go out, I just need to pack a few more stuff such as her milk powder. One thing to note: even if I do not use the milk powder when I go out with her, I will usually use it up by the end of the day as it has already been exposed to air and may not be good the next day. That’s my personal best practice.

What do you do when you leave the house with your baby? Any special tips for other mummies?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2010 2:09 am

    Sounds like a lot of things! I usually just have a folded up changing mat in my own handbag, 2 diapers, pack of tissues and wipes only. I tried using a bag just for “baby” but kept fumbling for my wallet and handphone and other things that I’m used to, so I gave up and went back to my usual handbag(s).

  2. December 24, 2010 12:00 pm

    Really? Don’t need to bring all the feeding stuff? My things fit neatly into a sling bag, so it’s quite easy for me to bring around.

  3. December 24, 2010 12:53 pm

    yah – after not having babies around for so long, i was just not used to carrying a sling bag, no matter how small. I just liked my trusty handbags. haha. I don’t need the feeding stuff, bc my baby doesn’t take.

Trackbacks

  1. Beware of Over-stimulated Baby « The Savvy Mummy

Leave a Reply

