Skip to content

The Savviest Mummy of Us All: A Tribute to Mrs Lee Kuan Yew

October 2, 2010

Mrs Lee Kuan YewI must confess that before her illness and death, I did not give Mrs Lee Kuan Yew much thought. With Senior Minister Lee so much in the limelight, nobody paid particular attention to Mrs Lee.  

I suppose that was the way she wanted it. She always appeared so demure. At most occasions, you would see her decked in an elegant cheongsam. And if she spoke on public occasions at all, it was always in a quiet and serene tone.

Reading the newspaper articles about her today, it seemed like she was a very capable lady. As a woman, we wear many hats. We have to be a supportive wife, a caring mother and a capable career woman. She did it all, and quite successfully too.

If Life was an examination, she passed with flying colours.

I offer my sincere condolences to the Lee family. I will always remember Mrs Lee as a great lady, and a role model to all Singaporean mummies.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 7:20 pm

    Yes, she was one amazing lady! One great example to all of us…

  2. October 3, 2010 9:16 pm

    Sigh, reading the newspaper articles in Straits Times nowadays, it makes you feel really sad… But at the same time, we envy LKY for having such a great wife. There’s such a great chemistry between the two of them. I suppose there’s still a long way to go for us to learn from her.

  3. October 4, 2010 8:07 am

    I read the interview on NYT a few weeks ago and I remembered I was very touched by it. It’s sad when I first heard of her passing last week. She’s truly a great woman, a wonderful wife and mother, a great example for all women.

Leave a comment