Skip to content

Support for Breastfeeding Mothers in Singapore

October 22, 2010

One of the biggest challenge that I will face after my baby is born is how to breastfeed successfully. There are a lot of stories about sore nipples, engorged breasts or babies refusing to take to breastfeeding, etc, which makes breastfeeding seem like a daunting task. Nevertheless, I am determined to at least try.

While surfing the net, I found a Breastfeeding Mothers’ Support Group (BMSG) in Singapore. It was started by a group of mothers (mainly expatriates) way back in 1975.  Services that theyprovide:

  • Counselling Helpline (6339-3558): They run a helpline to offer advice to new mothers. Seems like you can ask anything under the sun, such as good lactation consultants to recommend.
  • Sharing and Support Sessions: There are groups of mums who meet regularly to share tips and advice.
  • Workshops: There are also workshops to teach breastfeeding related topics such as proper latch on, potential problems in breastfeeding, etc.
  • Information: There are also good articles on breastfeeding, including a list of useful links for more information.

Singaporean mothers usually turn to more informal support when it comes to seeking advice. Thus, we may usually turn to our own mothers, confinement nannies or other friends with experience in breastfeeding for advice.

The next best form of support is the amazing network of mothers at the two major motherhood forums in Singapore: MummySG and Singapore Motherhood! I’m always amazed at the wealth of information and friendly support to be found there.

Finally, nowadays there are lactation consultants to help us as well. I found a link on the MummySG forum which talks about good lactation consultants to recommend. Basically, the lactation consultant will visit you at your home, and watch how you breastfeed your baby. They will then offer advice on how to improve on your techniques. Such home visits are, of course, chargeable. The cost seems to be less than $100 per session.

Hope the above is useful to you! Hopefully my own personal experience will be a smooth one, and I will not even need the support that I cited above. Wish my luck!

Love,
The Savvy Mummy

I am a first time Singaporean mummy with a passion for blogging. I started the savvy mummy blog to share useful information and tips about being a first time mummy, and some funny and heartwarming anecdotes about my adventures. Do subscribe to receive regular updates to my blog via email or RSS!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hooi See permalink
    October 27, 2010 12:51 am

    Hi,

    Stumbled upon your blog. I wrote a piece sometime last year on the best nursing rooms in Singapore, which was a great resource for me when I wanted to nurse my daughter when I was out.

    Check it out here:

    http://www.family.sg/HEALTH/2009/11/17/en-us/0000274/article.aspx

    Good luck nursing! Hang in there, its tough sometimes but it is totally worth it!

    Hooi See

Leave a comment